FA Cup draws

FA Cup draws

Despite the uncertainty that prevails around the return of fans to non-league grounds, the FA have today published the first two rounds of fixtures for the revamped 2020/21 FA Cup. The extra preliminary round is due to be played 1 September 2020 and the preliminary round on 12 September 2020.

The 2020/21 version of the FA Cup will see no replays taking place with all ties to be decided on the day.

The Footy in Durham clubs are represented in the draw with Northern League Division One clubs being entered automatically and Northern League Division Two clubs being drawn at random by the FA. The four successful teams in the draw were Crook Town, Durham City, Heaton Stannington and West Allotment Celtic.

This is what came out of the hat for the extra preliminary round (Footy in Durham clubs in bold)

Northallerton Town v Billingham Town

Sunderland RCA v Durham City

Crook Town v Yorkshire Amateur

Guisborough Town v Newton Aycliffe

Consett v Sunderland Ryhope

Stockton Town v Shildon

Newcastle Benfield v Seaham Red Star

Heaton Stannington v West Auckland Town

Bishop Auckland v Hall Road Rangers

The preliminary round draw brings a few more teams in to the hat.

Kendal Town v Bishop Auckland or Hall Road Rangers

Heaton Stannington or West Auckland Town v Ashington or Goole

Northallerton Town or Billingham Town v Stockton Town or Shildon

Crook Town or Yorkshire Amateur v Marske United or North Shields

Thornaby or Bridlington Town v Sunderland RCA or Durham City

Frickley Athletic v Newcastle Benfield or Seaham Red Star

Guisborough Town or Newton Aycliffe v Tadcaster Albion

Consett or Sunderland Ryhope v Ossett United

Prize money for these games has been reduced from previous years due to the Coronavirus outbreak.

Extra Preliminary Round Winners £1,125 Losers £375
Preliminary Round Winners £1,444 Losers £481

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *