What classes as Football in Durham? The council boundary? The historical Tyne to Tees definition? For our purposes we will go somewhere in between and use the ceremonial county boundaries which covers roughly the council boundaries plus the parts of Stockton north of the Tees and the Darlington area until you hit Yorkshire. It is good enough for Ordnance Survey so it is good enough for us.

Falling within that definition we have clubs in the National League, the National League North, the Northern League and the Wearside League. The running total is 37 clubs plus three reserve sides.

Due to time concerns the site will focus on men’s football in the first instance. Whilst we would like to cover the women’s game and junior football, it isn’t feasible at this juncture.

National LeagueNational League NorthNorthern League OneNorthern League TwoWearside League OneWearside League Two
Hartlepool UnitedDarlington FCBillingham TownBillingham SynthoniaAnnfield Plain FCAFC Durham
Spennymoor TownBishop AucklandBrandon UnitedChester-le-Street UnitedCockerton Club
Chester-le-Street TownCoxhoe AthleticDurham City Reserves
Newton AycliffeCrook TownDarlington Railway AthleticDurham FC
Seaham Red StarDurham CityDarlington TownDurham United Reserves
ShildonEasington CollieryDurham UnitedShildon Reserves
Stockton TownEsh WinningHartlepool FCShotton Colliery
West AucklandTow Law TownHorden Colliery WelfareSouth Moor AFC
WillingtonNorton & StocktonWheatley Hill WMC
West Auckland Tunns